ABOUT TRAQUA

TRAQUA is specialized in techniques for water flow characterization. We offer innovative technological solutions and customized expertise to hydrogeological or hydrological inquiries (analysis, diagnosis, monitoring).

stream analysis

OUR HISTORY

TRAQUA is a spin-off from the University of Namur. The first model of the STREAM® fluorometer was developed in 2015 by Amaël Poulain and Geert De Sadelaer, as part of Amaël Poulain’s Ph.D. thesis in karstic hydrogeology. The project required field fluorometers to characterize underground water flows in the karst systems. The team quickly realized that the fluorometers available on the market were too cumbersome for easy transport and installation in the field, specifically in hard-to-reach sites such as karst caves. After several years of development, testing, and field experiments, Amaël decided to create the company TRAQUA to offer the expertise and innovative fluorometers to actors in the water field, with the aim to make this type of analysis and monitoring more accessible for the management and protection of water resources. Sofie de Volder joined the team in early 2020 as a business developer to guide the creation of the spin-off and take its independence from the University of Namur.

OUR VALUES

SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNOLOGICAL EXPERTISE

By developing its own measurement probes, TRAQUA combines strong scientific expertise in hydrology and hydrogeology with a rigorous knowledge of the technology. Our scientific approach allows us to provide objective and clear answers through the acquisition of data with high added value.

LOCAL DEVELOPMENT AND PRODUCTION

Our STREAM® probes are produced and assembled in Belgium. The production through local partners allows us to ensure strict control over the quality of each product. This method of production and the individual calibration of our instruments guarantee the reliability of our analyses and expertise.

FLEXIBILITY TOWARDS OUR CUSTOMERS

Each TRAQUA expertise is based on the rental of our fluorometers, to which services can be added ‘à la carte’, in accordance with your requirement and expertise. We offer individualized service, adapted to the situation, in order to provide a quick solution based on reliable data.

RESPECT FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

Protecting water resources is our profession. TRAQUA offers solutions with minimal impact on the natural environment in line with this principle. Our fluorometers can measure fluorescent tracers with high sensitivity (0.06 ppb for fluorescein) and high temporal resolution (up to 1 measurement per minute). This allows us to use a minimum amount of tracer during our dye tracing tests while allowing for an accurate and reliable quantitative result. The fluorescent tracers are non-toxic and quickly diluted in water to become invisible to the naked eye while remaining measurable with our field instruments. Monitoring using STREAM® fluorometers is discreet given the size and the autonomous character of the probe and allows data collection without disturbance of the environment.

cours d'eau

WHO ARE WE?

The TRAQUA team combines cutting-edge scientific expertise with solid field experience gained during many projects over the past few years. As speleology, hiking, and adventure enthusiasts, our members share a passion for the natural environment and are concerned about nature preservation. Water is an indispensable and rare resource. Well aware of the challenge ahead, our team wants to invest in the protection and management of water through innovative solutions.

Amaël POULAIN

Amaël POULAIN

Hydrogeologist, Ph.D.

Sofie DE VOLDER

Sofie DE VOLDER

Business developer

OUR PARTNERS

Search traqua.be

À PROPOS DE TRAQUA

TRAQUA est un bureau d’étude spécialisé dans les techniques d’analyses et de monitoring d’écoulements d’eau. Nous proposons des solutions technologiques et une expertise sur mesure à toutes problématiques hydrogéologiques ou hydrologiques (analyse, diagnostic, monitoring).

stream analysis

NOTRE HISTOIRE

TRAQUA est une entreprise spin-off de l’Université de Namur. Le premier fluorimètre de modèle STREAM® a été développé en 2015 par Amaël Poulain et Geert De Sadelaer, durant la thèse de doctorat en hydrogéologie karstique d’Amaël Poulain. Ce projet nécessitait des fluorimètres de terrain pour caractériser des écoulements souterrains dans le karst. L’équipe s’est rapidement aperçue que les fluorimètres disponibles sur le marché étaient trop encombrants pour un transport et une installation facile sur le terrain, spécifiquement dans des sites difficiles d’accès comme le karst. Après plusieurs années de développement, de tests et d’expérimentations de terrain, Amaël a décidé de créer TRAQUA pour offrir son expertise et des fluorimètres innovants aux acteurs du domaine de l’eau, afin de rendre ce type d’analyses et de monitoring plus accessibles pour la gestion et la protection des ressources en eau. Sofie de Volder rejoint l’équipe début 2020 comme business développeuse afin de permettre à la spin-off de prendre son indépendance par rapport à l’Université de Namur.

NOS VALEURS

L’EXPERTISE SCIENTIFIQUE ET TECHNOLOGIQUE

Par le développement de ses propres sondes de mesure, TRAQUA combine une forte expertise scientifique en hydrologie et hydrogéologie avec une connaissance rigoureuse de la technologie. Notre démarche scientifique nous permet de fournir des réponses objectives et claires par l’acquisition de données à haute valeur ajoutée.

DÉVELOPPEMENT ET PRODUCTION LOCALE

Nos sondes STREAM® sont produites et assemblées en Belgique. Cette production via des partenaires locaux nous permet d’assurer un contrôle strict sur la qualité de chaque produit. Ce mode de production ainsi que la calibration individuelle de nos instruments garantissent la fiabilité de nos analyses et de notre expertise.

FLEXIBILITÉ ENVERS NOS CLIENTS

Chaque expertise TRAQUA démarre avec une location de nos fluorimètres, en y ajoutant des services à la carte en fonction de vos attentes et de votre propre expertise. Nous proposons un service individualisé, adapté à la problématique afin d’y apporter une solution rapide sur base de données fiables.

RESPECT POUR L'ENVIRONNEMENT

La protection des ressources en eau est notre métier. En accord avec ce principe, TRAQUA propose des solutions ayant un impact minimal sur le milieu naturel. Nos fluorimètres permettent de mesurer les traceurs fluorescents avec une haute sensibilité (0,06 ppb pour la fluoresceine) et à haute résolution temporelle (jusqu’à 1 mesure par minute). Ceci nous permet d’utiliser une quantité minimale de traceur lors de nos essais de traçage tout en permettant l’obtention d’un résultat quantitatif précis et fiable. Les traceurs utilisés sont non-toxiques et sont rapidement dilués dans l’eau afin d’être invisibles à l’œil nu, tout en restant mesurable avec nos instruments de terrain. Le monitoring à l’aide des fluorimètres STREAM® est discret vu la taille de la sonde et son fonctionnement autonome et permet une prise de mesure sans perturbation du milieu.

cours d'eau

QUI SOMMES-NOUS ?

L’équipe TRAQUA allie une expertise scientifique pointue à une solide expérience du terrain acquise sur de nombreux projets au cours de ces dernières années. Adeptes de spéléologie, de randonnées et découvertes, nos membres partagent la passion pour leur environnement naturel et sont soucieux de sa préservation. L’eau est une ressource indispensable et rare, conscient de l’enjeu qu’elle représente pour le futur, notre équipe souhaite s’investir dans sa protection et sa gestion au travers de solutions innovantes.

Amaël POULAIN

Amaël POULAIN

Hydrogéologue, Dr.

Sofie DE VULDER

Sofie DE VOLDER

Business développeuse

NOS PARTENAIRES

Search traqua.be